Overview

To develop authentic, intelligent relationships with each of customer individually, you need to be able to focus on the right customers at the right time. Assigning a customer to a certain group is nice, but imagine if you could specify your own criteria and have clients automatically added or removed as conditions change? Imagine being able to define exactly what "at risk" or "renewing soon" means for your organization and then sharing that view with the entire team! How about including calculated values, custom fields, or Salesforce fields as criteria?

Standard segments

ClientSuccess comes with the following pre-defined global segments. These segments cannot be edited, renamed, or deleted.

  • All my clients
  • All my team's clients
  • All clients
  • Renewing Next 90 Days
  • At Risk


Filters

Segments are dynamic groups of clients based on specific criteria. That criteria is a saved sets of filters. You can filter by standard fields, calculated values, custom fields, Salesforce fields, and selected clients. You can mix and match fields and include as many as you would like.


The following fields can be used as fields:

Standard fields

  • Assigned CSM
  • Assigned sales rep
  • City
  • Client-as-of date
  • Country
  • Product
  • Pulse
  • Pulse set date
  • State/Province
  • Status
  • SuccessCycle
  • SuccessCycle stage
  • SuccessScore
  • Timezone
  • Type
  • Usage


Calculated values

  • ARR
  • Last engagement (does not include emails you send)
  • Last touch
  • MRR
  • Renewal date
  • SuccesScore
  • TSV
  • Usage
  • Custom fields
  • Salesforce fields (up to five)
  • Selected clients

Display preferences

Column visibility, order, and sort direction are automatically saved with each segment, individually. This allows you to create custom views that compliment each each segment, maximizing visibility and access to the most valuable information.

Export and bulk edit

Segments can be exported and edited in bulk, including manually selected and sub-filtered ad hoc lists.

Custom segments

Segment can be modified by adjusting, removing, or adding additional filters. You can apply these changes temporarily to isolate clients that match certain criteria, save your changes to the existing segment, or save the changes as a new segment.


Save a custom segment

To save a custom segment:

1. Apply your desired filters.

2. Click the orange "Save" button to the right of the filters in the toolbar.

3. Enter a name for the segment in the modal that appears.

4. Click the "Create new segment" button.


Rename a segment

To rename a custom segment:

1. Select the segment from the Segments menu on the Clients screen.

2. Select "Rename" from the contextual menu that appears to the right of the Segment name in the toolbar.

3. Change the name of the segment.

4. Click "Save new name."

Note that standard segments cannot be modified. Changes to standard segments can only be saved as new segments. The admin role is also required to modify global segments.


Delete a segment

User segments are managed on User Segments Settings screen. To delete a segment:

1. Hover over the row containing the name of the segment.

2. Click the trash can icon on the far right side of the row.

3. Click "Yes, delete" in the confirmation modal that appears.


Global segments

Admins can create global segments that are automatically available to everyone in your organization. Column visibility, order, and sort direction are saved with the segment, allowing you to create a custom view that shows the most beneficial data about the clients, in the most beneficial format.


Save a custom global segment

To save a custom global segment:

1. Apply your desired filters.

2. Click the orange "Save" button to the right of the filters in the toolbar.

3. Enter a name for the segment in the modal that appears.

4. Check the "Make available to all users" checkbox.

5. Click the "Create new segment" button.

Delete a global segment

Global segments are managed on App Segments settings screen. To delete a segment:

1. Hover over the row containing the name of the segment.

2. Click the trash can icon on the far right side of the row.

3. Click "Yes, delete" in the confirmation modal that appears.


Convert a personal segment into a global segment

It's not possible to convert a personal segment into a global segment. To make a personal segment global, you will need to delete it, re-apply the filters, and then save it as a new, global segment.

Additional best practices

Be sure to check out our Segmentation best practices article for some common use cases.

Did this answer your question?